trying something new; progress or kidding myself?

Started by tired, February 08, 2016, 07:16:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tired

background:  i'm a fitness trainer; very part time right now, maybe 5-10 hours a week at best. i've never supported myself.still have a kid at home. history of abuse and just had major drama with mom/nc.  so i have issues with men, and also not feeling great at the moment.

in the past i've tried training men and it's been bad. not horrible but i don't like it.   but on the other hand female clients in the past have been a mixed bag. basically i wasn't doing well at anything. lately it's been great and i have all female clients who seem to like me. i only take on clients who seem to be motivated enough and i don't chase people.  it's not like i say no to people; they just fizzle out and i let it go.

anyway i got a request from a man who apparently is a business executive and seemed like a regular guy.  i quoted 80/hour which is pretty much higher than i've quoted anyone recently and i figured he'd ignore me and move on to someone cheaper.  but he called. he wanted after work times which is typical/understandable but the only time i have is 7pm which seems late to me. i got a little distracted for some reason over the phone and instead of setting up a time to have a free consultation i let him chat a bit.  i had this idea that men just don't feel like doing the consultation and really want to go ahead and train and not get fussy about it.  so i felt like maybe he wouldn't agree to it.  i ended up saying let me email you back later.

so i emailed and offered him time to meet for the consultation.  i guess i am hoping he gets annoyed with me and goes with someone else.  i don't like people who treat me like hired help and don't care who i am.  it's not personal but i do get to choose who i work with and sometimes i can't train certain people because of whatever physical issues they have.