Random processing

Started by storyworld, June 18, 2023, 01:15:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

storyworld

I feel like, as a newbie, I've been posting a lot, but I don't have anyone, other than my sister whom I speak with once a month or so, and my therapist (with whom I'm still building trust) to talk about in regard to my experiences and mental processing. I also feel compelled to say that I believe the things I endured were not nearly as intense as most of you and so feel a bit ... not sure how to verbalize.

I recently verbalized fragments of memory, first to my husband, then to my therapist, and then to my sister (to gauge accuracy of my memory) something I'd not previously even verbalized to myself. Through processing in various ways and talking with my sister, it appears this particular memory is probable, and yet I'm still struggling to accept it. I found myself calling myself a liar and feeling guilty and like a bad person for even thinking this instance (which was recurring) might have occurred. What makes this especially challenging is that it involves an individual I have developed a fantasy/ideal version of that I know in my brain isn't accurate but that I am fighting against releasing. (It feels harder and more painful to release this ideal version of this person than anything I endured/encountered as a child.) I am also really struggling to accept, or acknowledge, that my childhood was as bad as it may have been. I am not sure what the block is or how to explain it. I can accept that things felt hard, but find myself fighting against the idea that my childhood played a significant role in my triggers, insomnia, relational challenges, etc. I find it easier to think that I am the problem.

I would love to read your experiences with these types of things along with how you moved forward.

Moondance

This is the perfect place, in my opinion to express yourself Storyworld and to ask questions.