Recovery as a process (Possible Trigger Warning)

Started by SilverLingingA, September 10, 2017, 10:22:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SilverLingingA

Hello Everyone!

This is my first time posting to this forum and I'm so happy and glad I found this community! I want to apologize in advance as my post may be a little all over the place as I have so much I want to say and am not sure exactly how to articulate it properly.

Recovery often really is as Pete Walker says, "Two steps forward and one step back." I got Diagnosed with CPTSD earlier this year and have spent all my time since trying to understand and come to terms with my early childhood abuse, (emotional,physical and sexual abuse.) This year has been nothing but absolute chaos for me, emotionally that is. The rollercoaster of emotions that has come with my never ending tyranny of flashbacks.

Oh the flashbacks.... it has taken me months to finally begin to understand how to implement healthy coping mechanisms and to also observe my maladaptive coping mechanisms and inner/outer critic attacks. Even then, with all my new found understanding and better sense of my true authentic self do I still experience these awful, awful flashbacks (usually caused by inner/outer critic). Even with trying with EVERY ounce IN ME to implement self compassion and self love, do I still experience self hate and self disgust, and it feels it comes in cycles.