Avoidance

Started by LittleBird, August 17, 2017, 07:05:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LittleBird

Do any of you have thoughts on this? Does it make sense that nagging and blame about not going out might feel like a physical threat, trigger ef and would reinforce avoidance?

Libby12

Hi sunrise.

I am still very new to the idea of c-ptsd and have just finished FSTT for the first time. However,  your post felt very familiar to me.   My nm controlled my every thought and action.  As a child I was forced to go out to play,  attend clubs etc, and to generally go out with the family.  She absolutely loved going out and thought I should to.  I would much rather of stayed at home but that wasn't an option.  I was nagged and blamed and you are so right, I mostly prefer to avoid going out.   I have realised recently that going out does feel threatening, and being compelled to go out really can bring on a severe EF.   

So yes.  It all makes perfect sense to me. Efs feel so awful that you would certainly want to avoid going out.  Does your mother make you feel guilty about your avoidance?   That would seem to add another layer of shame.

I used to suffer awful abdominal pain when made to go out as a child, which from a young age I called my anxiety stomach ache.  I think this was known by mother but no way would she make any allowances for me.

I think you will get a lot of reading the book.

Best wishes.

Libby

Three Roses

Hello! I thought it was worth mentioning that there is a mental condition called Munchausen's by proxy. Here's a link and part of what it says there:

QuoteMunchausen syndrome by proxy (MSBP) is a mental health problem in which a caregiver makes up or causes an illness or injury in a person under his or her care, such as a child, an elderly adult, or a person who has a disability. Because vulnerable people are the victims, MSBP is a form of child abuse or elder abuse.