Am I C-PTSD, BPD or just lazy and selfish?

Started by Lazyzboy, December 27, 2014, 03:02:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lazyzboy

Hi All,

I have extremely low self esteem, terrible self care, cant even clean my house the last few years. I have a few friends but don't date (26 year old male). Get severe anxiety, body dysmorhpia and it takes everything to just get through the day. I turned to alcohol at 32 years old as I wasn't getting any better, my friends were married with kids so I just gave up, holding a romantic relationship was pure pain.

I do have a good job, and got a bonus this year (one of only two workers) because of my output.

However, I was very lazy teenager and kept this going throughout adulthood even though I graduated university, nearly own my own home, have $25000 in savings however I'm still subtley put down by my family as in hearing:

you never stick to anything
lazy
your ungrateful
selfish
a parasite

My Dad told me he knew I was "weird" by about ten years old.

But also I was given a lot of things, my parents are very intelligent, my mum always encouraged me in things.

So I'm left with the question am I sick, crazy of lazy?

Rain

Hi Lazyzboy!   Welcome to the OOTS forum  :wave:

You know, after reading your post ...it sounds like you just did what both of your parents told you to do.    Humans do that.   Parents give them these mandates as children ...and you know what ...we go do it as adults.

Have HOPE though, and you can let go of the labels.   You can heal, recover ...and feel good about yourself.   Okay?

Before I forget, can you write a intro in the "Welcome and Please Introduce Yourself" section?   Easier to get to know you if we have some background.   (And wingnut and Brandy ...could you also do this?)   :wave: