Do you regret telling friends and family early in recovery?

Started by TiredOfItAll, November 30, 2016, 04:33:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TiredOfItAll

I am new to this, forgive me as I haven't read everything yet. My first question is, is anyone sorry they told anyone about the past abuse? In the beginning, I told anyone who would listen. Now I am exhausted from explaining it and beginning to be sorry I told anyone.  It seems I have caused more of an uncomfortable situation having told friends and family.  I wish I could go back in time and not have told anyone for the simple reason, I think people think differently of me now. 
I have lost nearly all of my friends, for all kinds of reasons, mostly because I pushed everyone away. Half my family thinks I am nuts, not a big loss as the abuse was in my family to begin with.  The other half validates me because they went through the same abuse.  I fear that I may have acted too quickly in telling people, I thought I could trust, and should have kept everything to myself. I have been in counseling for about 2 years only to discover the abuse in the last year.  I feel I need to know from people who have truely been through all of this already, do you regret telling so many in the begining? Am I just going through a rough spot? Is there a light at the end of the tunnel?

radical

Tiredofitall,
Welcome :heythere:
You are brave and trusting and those are wonderful things to be.  Understanding about your abuse is big and important for you, and it is natural to want to share it openly and honestly as all the other big things in life.  I feel like the most miserable, cynical,1000 year old witch because I have to tell you that in my experience, most of even the coolest, most open and kind people don't really want to know about abuse in their own part of the world and from someone they know personally.  for so many reasons.