Exercise as a way to detach

Started by Alice97, July 27, 2016, 06:26:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alice97

I am addicted to working out. When I am exercising I can forget all my problems (sometimes) and just focus on pushing my body to its limits. Sometimes I push it a little to hard, I suppose as a kind of self harm. But most of the time it helps me cope with life. When I'm completely exhausted physically I usually don't have the energy to have a panic attack. But I'm wondering if using exercise as an escape is a good or a bad thing? I mean, I know it's better than substance abuse or self harm or things like that but is it OK to use it as a way to detach? Or is that unhealthy?

Contessa

I'm no professional obvoiusly, but exercise is indeed a healthy option, good diversion, and it stimulates the release of endorphins to make you feel good :)

You may be answering your own question there about how much is too much. An escape sounds good and healthy. But exhaustion sounds excessive.

In my opinion, which others may or may not share, the word 'detach' has connotations of avoidance. Its good to detach sometimes when needed, but speaking as someone who recently fell apart from long term attempted detachment, I feel a lot healthier, happier and more in control now with the aid of therapy. Of course our experiences are most likely different, as will be our levels of resilience. I think what i'm trying to say is, there is only so much we can run from; if it keeps catching up then some form of resolution or closure is needed.

Puns are purely coincidental at present ;)

movementforthebetter