Hi! I'm new here.

Started by Ravenclaw, June 13, 2016, 05:04:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ravenclaw

Hello. I am attempting something new. I've never used a forum before. I'm here for support to help cope with CPTSD.

Alone time is as necessary to me as air. My nerves are frayed after spending much time around anyone. But I am concerned with how isolated I've become. I left my job over a year ago, which was a in very social atmosphere. I'm still unemployed, and I stay home alone every day. So the amount of interaction with others has decreased drastically from that alone.

I have been focusing on my well being in a multitude of ways, but it has left me feeling extremely disconnected from others. I don't feel comfortable casually discussing my life anymore, so I don't feel like I can talk to people without a painful question or comment arising. I am hoping that I can find a way to get past that. Maybe this is a start.

Three Roses

Ravenclaw;

Hello and welcome! We're here for you. :hug:

Kizzie

This is definitely a good start Ravenclaw so kudos for having the courage to post  :applause:  I can certainly relate to needing time alone  :yes:   but feeling lonely at the same time. Being here has helped me with that and I hope the same will hold true for you  :hug:

Boatsetsailrose

Hi raven claw
Welcome ...
I relate !! A lot ...
Quote 'alone time is as necessary to me as air' this is such a good way to say it and I hadn't thought of it like that ...
I guess the thing is that we can't get too much fresh air but my experience is I can get too much alone time and it becomes detrimental ...
But saying that I do seem to need more alone time than the average person - frayed nerves from a condition that has a heightened nervous system -- I am just reading 'the body keeps the score ' at the moment and I'm getting more and more that I need to do exercise sometimes  to de frag rather than crash on my bed --