Hi I'm New. Possible Triggers.

Started by KayFly, August 03, 2015, 06:07:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KayFly

Hi, Ah, Okay I've re-written this like 5 times...One of the symptoms of my CPTSD, is striving for perfection, never feeling like I am doing a good enough job, and usually regretting immediately what I have posted on any forum, social networking site, or even speaking to someone in person.  This is why I don't have Facebook. But I will give myself credit. I am a writer, and I do like to in essence "perfect" my writing, like an editor would I suppose.

I am new here and was diagnosed with CPTSD several months ago. I am working my way through Pete Walker's, very insightful and helpful book "Complex PTSD: From Surviving to Thriving." I feel like I want to read the whole book before I continue to post much on this site. But, in case you are looking for some emotional management, I also am working on "The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook", which has been helpful thus far.  It was put together by Matthew McKay,PH.D, Jeffrey C. Wood, PSY.D, and Jeffrey Brantley, MD, in case you want to look it up and get a copy.  It's really helpful for managing emotions coping skills, and its a workbook, so somewhat interactive. I like it.

I have been going through EMDR and talk therapy with a therapist who I trust and like, for several months now, and I feel like, for the first time, have been really addressing my painful past. She encouraged me to find some online forums for extra support, and this was something I was interested in, as I have been having a hard time finding people to relate to in the real world, or finding balance in any relationships really. I tend to jump into things to fast, and watch it fall apart before my eyes. It seems to be happening at a quicker rate now. Maybe that's a sign that I am healing quicker.