Homeless

Started by tofubreadchillicoriander, November 29, 2023, 02:25:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tofubreadchillicoriander

I'm homeless and live with two sociopaths in the same room. Two days ago, on Monday I participated in a support group hoping to vent and get some support. Oh boy, was I wrong. It turned out to be a full blown gaslighting session that I experienced. The deeper I went into saying what the issues are, the more the gaslighting. I reported to my worker associated with this association (where she proposed to me to go to this meeting in the first place) that it didn't help me (yet to hear from her).

Meanwhile, I'm struggling to stay afloat with this new guy (second sociopath) who came in about a week ago. He's manipulative and overtly aggressive (verbally, not physically). I'm spending most of my morning and afternoon in a library trying to study to build mobile apps (I'm a former DevOps Engineer, on disability due to diagnosed [unofficially] C-PTSD [my trauma therapist wrote PTSD in his letter], extreme anxiety and dissociation) and hopefully improve my situation.

What would your recommendations be in such a case when dealing with people like this? And please don't tell me that he may not be a sociopath and that it's his way of coping with being homeless too. I heard enough of this and more craziness on Monday.

P.S. I'm an anti social (undiagnosed) too, though I don't verbally and overtly abuse people. I just mind my own business.

Armee

I don't have any advice for how to deal with sociopaths you share a room with but hope someone has something useful. But I did want to hop in and send some virtual support your way. I'm sorry for what you've gone through and are going through and hope you find a way to a safer environment soon.

Bermuda

I don't have much advice. Just to put that out there first... but I relate.