Introduction

Started by Californian, July 21, 2018, 06:44:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Californian

Wow, I'm getting a bit anxious just by thinking about what to write here. So...I'm just going to start. I'm a college student who, within the last few months, has come to the conclusion that I have CPTSD, or at least, that it's extremely likely I do. It's something I've put a lot of thought into. Looking back at my childhood, it took me a while to realize how traumatizing it had been.

My dad always had serious temperament issues. I can't really remember anything from my early childhood, but I know he'd sometimes get angry with me (I'm ADHD as well, so that probably didn't help) and would use physical force as a form of punishment. For the first few years of my life, my family was fairly well-off. We lived in a nice house in a small town, and both my parents were employed in high-paying jobs. The early-2000's recession hit them hard though. They had to sell our house, and we moved to a rental in another nearby town. It was still a nice house, and we lived there for several years, but we were struggling financially.

(With how often I get these verification letter entry things wrong, I may just be a robot.)