Self-Care Suggestions

Started by M.R., December 21, 2017, 03:23:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

M.R.

So, I've been in a bad place for the past two-two and a half weeks, and what I've always done isn't helping. I don't even know exactly what I'm experiencing. I'm fairly new to the idea of EFs and so I don't know if that's what this is. All I know is that I feel really depressed and I have a lot of other emotions/thoughts racing through me.

I'm wondering if any of you have any suggestions for what self care has helped you. Or that you use now. I'm going to have to read about it also.

Thank you.

MR

songbirdrosa

I find that what helps me the most is kinda doing the opposite of what I tend to do when I'm down. Example, if I've been in bed in my pyjamas all day, I'll get up, give myself a really thorough head-to-toe clean and put on some nice clothes. Or if I've stayed at home for a few days, I go somewhere scenic for a long walk.

I think self care is a really specific thing to you, because what makes two people feel good can be entirely different. But try whatever you can until you find your niche :)

Three Roses

An EF happens when something reminds you (this can be unconscious) of a past traumatic event. Not only is your mind effected, but your brain and body too.

There are steps you can take to counter an EF. See Pete Walker's website - http://pete-walker.com/flashbackManagement.htm

Blueberry

Check out this self-care guide http://outofthefog.net/C-PTSD/forum/index.php?topic=6024.0 I find it really helpful and easy to use!

DecimalRocket

Hmmm . . . Here's a list of different things I've tried in the course of my life as well as from others I've heard. Though, I'll omit the ones I don't think apply to the general population — because I have some out of the ordinary ideas of relaxation. (ex. Math, thinking of traffic in the city, obsessively analyzing the situation etc.)

1. A challenging hobby you love to make you feel like you achieved something.