how can I help

Started by mike, July 11, 2017, 11:03:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mike

Hello,
    First let me just say I don't suffer from CPTSD but my girlfriend of 3 years was recently diagnosed and I am trying to get any advise I can on what I can do to help her in any way that I can. As she has just recently been diagnosed she herself has no answer to the question nor would I expect her to.  I am a very pro active person and if any one can give me any advise or tips or point me in the right direction for literature or just anything I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you

Three Roses

Hi, Mike! Thanks for joining, and for supporting your girlfriend.

I would suggest that learning about CPTSD in general would be your first step. There's a great book that explains what happens to the brain as a result of traumatic events called "The Body Keeps The Score", by Bessel van Der Kolk. There is another book that goes more into the symptoms themselves (does she freeze when triggered? does she flee?) the title of which is "CPTSD: From Surviving To Thriving" by Pete Walker, who also has a great website, http://pete-walker.com/.

Maybe others will have other ideas - hope this helps! :wave:

Lilfae

Hi Mike!
Like Three Roses say, it's good to know the symptoms and why she got them in the first place as PTSD can be caused by a majority of reasons.