Depersonalization: what's been your experience?

Started by bazou, April 11, 2017, 05:06:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bazou

I've been 'depersonalizing' since I was a child. I remember being a kid and the feeling of "am I really here? Is this really me?" like I was outside my body. It happened daily. This started so early for me that most of my life, I thought it was normal. I thought everyone had these weird things happen. Like a brain short-circuit. I really did. Only later in life when I gained more knowledge and emotional intelligence did I start telling myself "girl, that ain't right'. But then the shame kicked in so I just kept it to myself.

My question is this has continued to happen to me in adulthood. I never monitored it to see if there was a pattern. I can't say it happens often now, but sometimes it will, out of nowhere. I'm just learning about this. Do any of you have a similar experience and are these short episodes usually directly linked to something or just random?

silentrhino

this is an issue for me, I get flashes of watching myself f rom the outside at the weirdest times, just usually feeling the bullcrap of life coming on strong and me unable to cope. I have to watch myself during those times, it usually means a self harm episode is brewing.I don't tell anyone about it.

bazou

Quote from: silentrhino on April 11, 2017, 08:46:47 AM
this is an issue for me, I get flashes of watching myself f rom the outside at the weirdest times, just usually feeling the bullcrap of life coming on strong and me unable to cope. I have to watch myself during those times, it usually means a self harm episode is brewing.I don't tell anyone about it.

Are you able to ground yourself and bring yourself back? How long does it last?

Blueberry