Never realized it was (maybe?) Dissociation

Started by mamato3, April 01, 2017, 09:52:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mamato3

I was diagnosed with C-PTSD 14 years ago after a divorce from a physically and emotionally abusive NPD husband. Some days I have experiences where I feel like I'm "out of body" particularly during an anxiety attack or high stress moments. Is this dissociation? I find it terrifying and have to work hard to come back in the moment and feel grounded. I don't see a lot of posts from those who were diagnosed as adults, but maybe I'm not looking in the right spots. TIA

Blueberry

Hi Mamato,
The way I understand it, the thread Development of CPTSD in Adulthood was formed later. People post in the Childhood thread as well. I'm no expert, so please correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't imagine there's a difference between dissociation after adult onset CPTSD or after childhood onset. So you may well find useful posts in childhood onset. You're certainly free to read and post where you like (so long as you follow the guidelines of course).

"out of body" - either disocciation or depersonalisation.

It's good that you can re-ground.  :thumbup: Even if it's hard work. I wish you all the best in general and especially now if you're in a terrifying spot. I hope somebody posts soon who can help you better.

There might be more information under Resources as well, unless you've looked already. 

Three Roses

QuoteSome days I have experiences where I feel like I'm "out of body" particularly during an anxiety attack or high stress moments. Is this disassociation?

I think you may be describing derealization or depersonalization - see what you think -