Does cptsd get cured completely?

Started by Eyessoblue, March 17, 2017, 05:58:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Eyessoblue

Ok this probably sounds like a stupid question, but can you be completely cured from cptsd ? by this I mean move on in life with no more symptoms , feelings, flashbacks etc and move on in life where you think about this  no more as if it was never there. I'm hoping you can but you don't hear a lot about people who have completely got over/recovered from it which made me wonder if you actually can be.

Three Roses

I have no personal experience in being completely healed but it's something I am aiming for.

https://drkathleenyoung.wordpress.com/2011/07/06/can-complex-ptsd-be-cured/

sanmagic7

i don't know.  since i'm nearly 70 and just began dealing with my symptoms from a c-ptsd angle a little over a year ago, i don't know if i have too much baggage already to completely clean it all out in the time i have left.  however, i do have faith that i will be able to whittle this beast down to a manageable size at least.  i've made a lot of progress in a short time, especially since being part of this community.

the mind is a wondrous entity.  i would encourage everyone to never give up hope.

Candid

I don't expect to be cured of CPTSD, not because I'm over 60 but because it's been with me all my life so it's part of my personality. The only thing I want to change right now is the way I relate to others. I no longer assume everyone is better than I am, knows the Secret of Life while I don't, or can see glaring flaws in my personality that I'm not aware of. I'm starting to like who I am, I no longer want to hide from the world, and any day now I'll start making friends. This has not come about with therapy, but with the love and support I've received on this forum.