stuck

Started by joyful, November 12, 2016, 10:46:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

joyful

This whole week i've been stuck in this deep, heavy sadness. i don't know what brought it on, but everything is just adding to it. it's like i had a realization (came out of major denials for a second) and it was like "oh my gosh, i'm dealing with THAT???" I don't know if that makes any sense... i thought i was getting over and "accepting" some of the layers of trauma, but i think i was just getting comfortable in denial, cuz i still get triggered and then spend hours (sometimes more) after in panic. i don't know what it was this week that caused me to thaw out a little, but i just am constantly on the verge of tears (if only my eyes would cooperate). i'm back in that place where i just want to sit on my bed all day and stare at the wall. but i have to put on a happy face and just keep going.

i'm pretty new to the discovery of CPTSD, and am just slowly starting to FINALLY make some sense of myself and become aware of my emotions instead of just squashing and burying them to please others...anyway, i feel this deep deep dark sadness hanging over me constantly and my impulse is to shy away from it, push it away, bury it. i've heard to just sit with my emotions, but for some reason that always makes me uncomfortable, like i'm cringing away from myself. i try to write out everything to, but i get like terrified that someone will find in and i'll be "in trouble" like when i was a kid. Does anyone have any suggestions for getting through these intense emotions?

Thank you

sanmagic7

in my experience, they come and go, sometimes as they please, it seems.  the good news is that they don't last forever - 'this, too, shall pass'.  the bad news is that until they pass they feel really crummy.