New to CPTSD and looking for book: less focus on childhood

Started by kda, October 12, 2016, 01:09:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kda

I am new to understanding that I have CPTSD (my intro is on the Welcome board), and am looking to do some background reading. I bought Complex PTSD: From Surviving to Thriving (Pete Walker), and am only a little way in, but am a little disappointed that it has such an overwhelming focus on childhood trauma (not disappointed that the book exists, of course... plenty of people need a book with that focus!). While yes, I had childhood trauma and dealing with that will undoubtedly be integral to my recovery, I have also had numerous adult long-term and/or recurring traumas, and so I am hoping to find a book that is a bit broader in scope. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Riverstar

I would suggest "Coping with Trauma" by Jon Allen, if you haven't read it. It's a long read and I'm still working through it myself, but it's definitely not just focused on childhood, and talks about how abusive childhoods often lead to a string of abusive relationships/other traumatic situations later. But I think the groundwork is laid in childhood, so even if you don't want to go there now or don't think it's as important that at some point you'll probably need to. The book is more theoretical/clinical/deep-thought-eske rather than case-study based  but it's good to read slowly for long term healing.

kda

Thank you for the recommendation of "Coping with Trauma." I got the book and have been slowly making my way through it (slowly because it is very dense and frequently triggering). I strongly recommend it! While it might be considered a self-help book, it is more academic in style than is typical of the genre, and does not shy away from detailed discussions of the clinical literature, which means that it speaks perfectly to my personal mindset.