I like being avoidant dismissive?

Started by GoSlash27, April 11, 2024, 11:33:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GoSlash27

All,
 I'm very new at this. Haven't even had my first therapy session yet, so please bear with me...

I've spent my entire adult life avoidant/ dismissive, mistrustful, generally antisocial, avoiding conflict, and easily able to cut loose anyone who causes me problems and not look back.

Am I weird for seeing these personality traits as a feature rather than a bug? I have very few close friends, but the few I have are awesome people. I have nobody in my life bringing me grief or drama. I *like* it this way.I feel happiest and most at-ease when completely isolated from humanity. I never get lonely, I *seek* solitude.

I'm afraid that therapy will inevitably change or remove these personality traits. I honestly want to keep them.

Thoughts? Is this a bad thing?

Thanks,
-Slashy

NarcKiddo

Oh boy, that resonates.

I've had a few arguments - er, I mean discussions - with my therapist on this point. She has always maintained my life will be the richer for loosening up and being prepared to give the benefit of the doubt. I have often countered with the argument that it is far safer and more comfortable to continue living my life according to my long-held views to the contrary.

Therapy might change your views IF you are prepared to consider change. It won't remove personality traits and you are the one who decides what you want to keep. Don't forget that simply trying a different approach does not in any way mean you are changing your underlying beliefs. If you experiment, and find you were right all along, then no (or very little) harm done. If someone lets you down, that is annoying, but if you went into it with your eyes open, expecting them to, then at least you have the satisfaction of having been proved right.