Another newbie!

Started by aliasgrace, November 26, 2017, 05:17:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

aliasgrace

Hi there,

Thank you for having me, and what a great website and online community. I have never joined a forum before, but as soon as I learned about Complex PTSD recently, my life and my experiences make so much more sense. It seems odd that I am only learning about C-PTSD, given my past 25 years of enthusiastic therapy and intellectual curiosity. I completely agree with John Briere regarding misdiagnoses. Over the past few years, I've questioned whether all of my diagnoses were "only" trauma-related as I've primarily been asymptomatic of the anxiety disorder diagnosed at 15, the bipolar theorized at 20 and apparently confirmed at 25 after a full-fledged "manic" episode, and even more officially tested at 30 with Anxiety, PTSD, and, shockingly Borderline but also shockingly, no bipolar. I now believe the Borderline was a manifestation of the new abuse I experienced at my now-identified Narcissistic and Sociopath husband (by our marriage counselor). 

Even writing this is exhausting.

I left my toxic partner a few months ago and am not sure where I am in my path to recovery. I now know that I am an empath with C-PTSD but none of the other things, who just got out of a 6 year abusive relationship. I am safe with a job but quite nomadic/somewhat homeless and trying to heal in a way that my partnership with alcohol is impeding.