ok, so I have been diagnosed with CPTSD, now what do I do?

Started by heather.hartig, June 05, 2017, 09:33:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

heather.hartig

I am fighting this diagnosis in my mind. It was suggested that I go online and find some sort of support group. I have CPTSD as a result of trying to survive, literally. I do not know what I hope to get out of this. I am just now finding out that CPTSD is also BPD or borderline personality disorder. I am overwhelmed. I am not allowed to work, going on 7 years now. I still cannot sleep all the way through the night. I am also a combat veteran. I am awaiting acceptance to a doctoral degree program. I have signed up for habitat for humanity. I want to also volunteer at an adoption agency. I hope to one day adopt. I do not self-harm, but have low self-esteem. I also go to church, and want to volunteer there as well. Being positive is foreign to me. Love is almost foreign to me as well, except for the church. I do not want to develop MPD or multiple personality disorder. I need help in figuring out treatments. I am under a licensed psychologist through the va. I need help understanding all of this better, please.

woodsgnome

The most important aspect, for me, is developing a meaningful sense of self-compassion; and realizing this isn't my fault, and never was; that cptsd is more an injury than illness/disorder. But it is cruel and loaded with twists and turns, and I've come to accept that it could be a rough ride, but can still struggle to make a go of it somehow.