Starting Out

Started by OwnSide, November 19, 2022, 10:37:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

OwnSide

I hope I'm ready for this because I'm a bit terrified of being seen but at the same time tired of hiding so much.

It's the middle of the night where I am. I'm thinking again how its been a while since I've been to T. It plays out like a conversation, where I try to explain myself in a way that makes sense -- a lot of my thoughts trend that way. And for context, I was seeing a T at my university but when I graduated I decided to try this organization that offers free services for youth, including drop-in counselling sessions.

That was working for me for a while. And while my FOO knows I go to therapy, I've been a bit more secretive about it lately because, well, I'm no longer discussing "just" anxiety. So I've been calling them "appointments". I have them on the computer. And I guess referring to them that way made them indistinguishable from the other appointments I have on the computer, meetings with people for school and such.

There were a couple of little comments about these appointments. Like how one of them seemed "long" (and it was, they let you go on for over an hour if you need it). And then. The last one I went to. This would have been about a month ago now. I come up the stairs (I live in the basement) and we're all in the kitchen and my M says something like, "Why do you have to go to so many appointments all the time? It's annoying."

Now there are multiple ways to interpret that statement but the way I interpreted it was "It annoys me that you're going to so many appointments." They were counselling appointments! And she couldn't have known that because I didn't tell her, but good grief, that was not what I needed to hear.