Dissociation (Brain Fog)

Started by Ladybug, November 30, 2014, 09:51:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ladybug

Happy Sunday fellow Stormers! I am fairly new to the OOTS and suffer from CPTSD. What I feel is my biggest, most bothersome symptom is brain fog, which I think is dissociation. I am ALWAYS in a fog. I hate it. I am only just beginning to tackle CPTSD, and I started by getting Pete Walker's book, CPTSD From Surviving to Thriving. It is helping; opening my eyes to new things. I read on here about EF's but didn't think I had them, but after reading about them - yes, yes I do. It makes sense as to why I'm so "sensitive" - I am triggered into an EF. I also realized (by reading Pete's book and through OOTS) that in addition to BPD, my mother is also NPD. She repeatedly threatened to kill herself and parentified me.

I feel that it is important to tackle the dissociation to continue with the recovery process - right now I am so numbed out and spacey. I am going to purchase the book Trauma Related Dissociation by Suzette Boon, and hope that it will help. Pete mention's it in his book. I was wondering if anyone else suffers/suffered from 24/7 dissociation like me, and any tips you may have, etc. Also, have any of you read Suzette's book and did it help you? I didn't see it listed on the book discussion section. I will read it and write about it there if I find it helpful. Thanks all.

schrödinger's cat

Hi Ladybug,