Checking in. Not sure if I should be here.

Started by BeingDS, August 15, 2016, 12:03:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BeingDS

Hello.

I'm a veteran who's been out of the Navy for around 6 years. I got an honorable discharge and never had any major disciplinary incidents, but I was treated for "acute depression" while I was in. I had difficulty adjusting to the service, and didn't do well at my job. I had a supervisor who was a real piece of work. And since it was the military, and he outranked me, I couldn't get away, transfer, quit; and couldn't go over his head without clear evidence of actual misconduct. Which, even if his behavior was misconduct, I didn't have documentation or evidence of it, and I was his only subordinate in a small workcenter; so there were no witnesses.

I have had emotional, self-esteem, motivational, concentration, social, and irritability problems ever since leaving the service, six years ago. I've recently come to terms with the fact that I'm still depressed, and might have anxiety issues as well. I do not believe that I am a physical danger to myself though.

This has had effects on family and social relationships, professional impacts, financial impacts, and personal. I've been single my whole life. Never had a girlfriend.

I scored a 40/80 on a self-administered PCL-5 (Probable Diagnosis of PTSD).

Here's the thing though; and why I say in the title "not sure if I should be here". I was never in combat. Never got shot at. Never had a bomb go off nearby. Never been in a situation where I thought I would be maimed or killed. I was a technician on a boat (which I thought was really cool) and I had a nice, air-conditioned space to work in and another nice, air-conditioned space to stand watch in. I got to party in 16 countries on four continents. So what the * is my excuse for being messed up?