Creating healthy boundaries to avoid triggers

Started by echolocation, August 24, 2016, 11:23:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

echolocation

Post removed at request of member - Kizzie

Three Roses

For me, Al Anon has been a great support, showing me ways to establish boundaries and hold fast to them without feeling guilty. Well, I should say, while encouraging me to not feel guilty because sometimes I still do. I keep my side of the street clean, and expect others to keep theirs tidy too. I sometimes have to deal with their crap touching my crap but it really has helped a lot.

Becoming aware of when I'm having an emotional flashback has also helped, so I can take steps to counter it. Reading books like "CPTSD: From Surviving To Thriving" and "The Body Keeps The Score" have also helped by giving me with options how to deal with things.

But I'm relatively new to this and have my first appointment with a therapist soon, so maybe those are all obvious. Anyone else?

movementforthebetter

I am not that far along in my recovery yet but I anticipate having to deal with the same situations at some point. What I have noticed so far is that only those who are non-judgemental or have also dealt with their own trauma have been supportive without stepping on my toes. I have one friend thst kinda one-upped my situation in public but I wrote it off because I don't want it to distract me from my progress.

I think ultimately you will have to decide what's worth "fighting" to you.

On Out Of The Fog they talk about the 3 C's... I didn't cause it, I can't change it, and I can't cure it. It's not a perfect fit but I think it might be useful as a mantra. While you have shared family connections and might have to see them, applying this rule to them may help you to enforce your boundaries without guilt. Additionally, the OOTF tool medium chill from the toolbox sounds like it was made for people like this.

Good luck!

Dutch Uncle